Otep (also written as OTEP or OT3P) is an American heavy metal band formed in 2000 in Los Angeles, California by Otep Shamaya. History, Otep is a four-piece metal band that began in Los Angeles, California in early 2000. They were invited to play Ozzfest before they had even signed to a label after Sharon Osbourne witnessed a brief part of their live performance. They have since played Ozzfest several times. To date the band has released five full length albums, and two EP's. In 2009 Otep signed with Victory Records. Their 2009 album, Smash the Control Machine, was to include a reunion with former members Mark "Moke" Bistany on drums and Rob Patterson on guitar. The album also featured Koichi Fukuda on piano, and Emilie Autumn on violin. The band appeared with 2Cents, Five Finger Death Punch & Shadows Fall on the 'Shock & Raw Tour' of North America in the fall of 2009. On September 30, 2010, Jay McGuire left the band. The album cover for ATAVIST was released on March 7, 2011. Current members, Otep Shamaya - Vocals (2000-present), Former members, Guitars: Dave Aguilera - guitars (2000), Tarver Marsh - guitars (2000-2001), Rob Patterson - guitars (2001-2004, 2009), Karma Singh Cheema - guitars (2006-2007), Bass: eViL j (Jason McGuire) - bass (2000-2010), Drums: Brian Wolff - drums (2006-2008), Mark "Moke" Bistany - drums (2001-2004, 2009), Session Musicians, Greg Wells - guitar & custom percussion on House of Secrets, Joey Jordison - drums on House of Secrets, Holly Knight - mellotron, piano on The Ascension, Koichi Fukuda - piano on Smash the Control Machine, Emilie Autumn - violin on Smash the Control Machine, Markus - guitars on ATAVIST, Rani Sharone - guitars, bass guitar on ATAVIST, Gil Sharone - drums on ATAVIST, Touring Musicians, Guitars: Steven Barbola - touring guitars (2008-2009, 2010), Aaron Nordstrom - touring guitars (2007-2008), Scotty CH - touring guitars (2005), Lee Rios - touring guitars (2004), Lane Maverick - touring guitars (2001), Drums: Chase Brickenden - touring drums (2010), Dave Gentry - touring drums (2008-2009, 2010), Doug Pellerin - touring drums (2004-2006), David Lopez - touring drums (2004), Scott Coogan - touring drums (2003)